Fluweelpoeding / Red Velvet Cake

All I can do is apologise for the Pyrex...
And you have to serve it on heirloom Schonwald...
The cakes before icing

Sunday is baked dessert day at home, and I usually use the opportunity to explore what the Kook & Geniet has to offer (you could say K&G is South Africa’s answer to Mrs Beeton, although only with recipes – we have entire seperate tomes instructing housewives how to behave).

Fluweelpoeding is a family and volks favourite, but since I have issues with its method, I changed the dessert slightly. The original recipe calls for a thick egg yolk custard-type base, which needs to be baked until set. Then, spread apricot jam all over the pud. Finally, remaining egg whites are whipped and piped  in roses (!) over the dessert and baked AGAIN until browned. And everyone asks why the pud has a watery residue after you start dishing up…  So I turned the whole thing into a giant souffle, with preserved orange rind all over (to keep with the traditional theme, and they were slowly dissipating in the pantry anyway).  I think it worked out much better, but I still think the oven was too high (or would this work better baked in individual ramekins? Mmmm…). So here’s my recipe, adjusted oven temp and all. (Apologies to SJA de Villiers, at least I didn’t just copy out and post the original recipe like half the VLV tannies on the web…)

In keeping with the velvet theme, and having just finished To Kill A Mockingbird, I decided to try out Red Velvet cake (which turns out not to be from the Deep South after all, damn), apparently invented in the Astoria-Waldorf hotel in New York (yes, the salad one) by a chef who must’ve had unlimited access to food colourants and no idea about carcinogens. Then again, it was the 20’s in America, they had other stuff to worry about.

Love the texure, love the colour (20ml red colouring AND cocoa powder to a batch!), and I can see why the Noughties revival in overexcited cupcake bakers everywhere. This could either be attributed to Hummingbird Bakery whose much-hyped version is apparently the bestest, or those c’cake bakers eating too many of their own velvet confectionary, and self-inducing a hyperactive vicious cycle. Recipes call for a cream cheese frosting similar to that on carrot cake, although in my humble opinion, keep it dark and dirty with a shiny chocolate ganache dripping all over the carmine crumbs…

Fluweelpoeding, souffle style

1. Scald 1L milk with a vanilla pod, cool slightly. Prepare a slurry with 1/2c castor sugar, 3/4c cake flour and a pinch of salt and add the hot milk.

2. Cook this mixture on a low heat whilst stirrring, until it thickens and the flour is cooked. Cool down slightly.

3. Mix together 4 egg yolks, 60g butter (melted), and slowly add to the cooled milk mixture.

4. Beat the remaining 4 egg whites to soft peak and fold into the custard base;  pour into a baking dish. Bake at 150C for 40 min.

Eat immediately!

I liked the colour of the batter so much I made the cakes again!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Caitlin says:

    Hey Almay,

    Baking looks good, and I like your post too! Wish I could eat one of those cupcakes right now, but it may cancel out the painful spin class I just got home from…I’m having Carali for a Birthday dinner tomorrow night and I want to make a chocolate dessert any ideas? Something easy because I’ll have to pull it off after work before they turn up at 7pm.

    Miss you lots!

    x Caitlin

  2. epicureaddict says:

    Chocolate pots – they are super fast!

  3. Wonderful recipe! If you won’t mind I’d love to guide foodista readers to your site.Just add your choice of Foodista widget at the end of this blog post and it’s good to go.Thanks!

Leave a Reply

